Troll’s charter – Sun paywall leaves all existing usernames up for grabs

An email hits my inbox with a special offer to join Sun+, the new paywalled version of The Sun. One intriguing paragraph stood out for me from a community management point of view:

Unfortunately, usernames and comments from the site will not be saved, so to have the best chance of getting your old username, make sure you sign up as soon as possible.

The quick-minded troll who doesn’t mind spending a few quid on the introductory offer—one pound for two months—could very quickly blag active usernames from the existing community.

Get blog posts like this via my email. Sign up here.